top of page
Search
jnavella2

First Step

"Understand the importance of self-review..."


One concept from the 39A course objectives that I have improved on over the past two weeks is my personal self-review. For example, the assignments where I had to create a

summative paragraph over what I believed were the most important topics covered in Kilbourne's lecture video, Killing Us Softly. Originally, I wrote a whole eight sentence paragraph that explained my interpretation of the lecture and Kilbourne's main ideas. I then realized that the directions clearly asked for a summary of the video rather than a personal stance. Instead of deleting the whole paragraph, I worked with what I had and integrated a more passive voice, changing some sentence structures to fit the given prompt. Through doing this assignment I learned to adapt my own writing to fit the needs of the prompt/directions. It has also taught me how to manage my time, using my resources to make my own mistake not so bad after all. Here is an excerpt from the summary paragraph I wrote:


"However, Kilbourne recognizes the positive leap of values within media to this day; with the help of influencers and popular labels, the social construct of masculinity and femininity perceived in advertisements has improved. To further this progression, Killbourne mentions how advertisements will never change unless the people speak out against them."

18 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Podcast Process

In preparation for the final group podcast recording, my groupmates and I met on February 17th at 5 pm. Overall, the discussion went well...

2 Comments


Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
Jan 28, 2021

Hi, Jia. Reading the requirements for all the assignments are really important, but I like the way you change the voice of the whole paragraph instead of deleting all.

Like

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
Jan 20, 2021

Hi, I like your post. I appreciate the way you change your writing. It can save us a lot of time.

Like
bottom of page