top of page
Search
jnavella2

My Habits of Mind

Curiosity, the desire to know more about the world:

I experienced a sense of curiosity in this class through my analyzation of the concept of society and gender roles by questioning the limits of such constructs and how soon until the people of society rebel against its constraints on free self expression.


Openness, the willingness to consider new ways of being and thinking in the world:

Our assignment on Advertisements and how they form social constructs of beauty in our society really influenced me to think of the world more openly as a young woman.


Engagement, a sense of investment and involvement in learning:

I felt extremely engaged in the articles I read and had to annotate as I had to continuously switch back and forth from analyzing the text and giving my own ideas and interpretation of the author's work.


Creativity, the ability to use novel approaches for generating, investigating, and representing ideas:

Creating my own website and creating a weekly report of my own progress enhanced my creative ability, the website is a reflection of my own creative vision every time I add something new to it, and allows me to express myself through intellectual writing.


Persistence, the ability to sustain interest in and attention to short- and long-term projects:

Being able to watch the whole live action film of Beauty and the Beast made it possible for me to enjoy and sustain interest through such a hardy assignment of annotations, paragraph writing, and peer review.


Flexibility, the ability to adapt to situations, expectations, or demands:

Although I take a few other heavy courses in my schedule, so far, I am able to flexibly change my schedule to give an effective effort for the class despite its high expectations for intellectual analyzation and writing.


Responsibility, the ability to take ownership of one's actions and understand the consequences of those actions for oneself and others:

At the beginning of the course, I failed to turn in some assignments on time due to adjusting time management and schedule, however, I take ownership of my failures and am actively trying to improve myself as a student not just in this course, but as a whole.


Metacognition, the ability to reflect on one's own thinking as well as on the individual and cultural processes used to structure knowledge:

Again, these blogs allow me to reflect on myself from previous weeks and have helped me reassess my approach to certain writing and reading assignments. The writing assignments, especially, allow me to reread my own writing as many times as I need and confidently correct my own mistakes.



18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Podcast Process

In preparation for the final group podcast recording, my groupmates and I met on February 17th at 5 pm. Overall, the discussion went well...

1 Comment


Hello Jia,

It was nice to meet you on zoom during our podcast meeting. I also forgot to turn in an assignment because I put the wrong date in my planner for the Rogue One Annotation Assignment and I had to take responsibility for my actions. I like how you organized your ideas in this blog post. On my blog post, my explanation for flexibility is similar to yours.

Like
bottom of page